Social Media platforms allow you to block someone if you find them annoying. But blocking someone is always a good choice, as the other party knows they have blocked them. It might give you a hard time while facing them in your life.
So is there a good option to take control of your engagements? Yes, there is. Then You are in the right place. Instagram’s new restrict feature makes it possible. Are you wondering what does restrict mean on Instagram? How to use it?
This article explains what a restricted feature on Instagram is and its features. So without further ado, let’s get started.
What does Restrict mean on Instagram
The restrict function on Instagram is an anti-bullying function that helps you avoid unwanted interactions. If you are annoyed by continuous DMs and harsh comments, then Restrict is your best feature.
When you restrict someone on Instagram, the person can still see your profile and interact with you. Their Direct Messages would be visible to you as a message request. However, their comments won’t be visible to other users under your post.
Okay, let’s see what happens when you restrict someone on Instagram. Learning more about What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram will give you the best knowledge on how this works! It is more like a Soft Block; this function can handle repeated bullies and negative comments.
What happens When You Restrict someone on Instagram
You restrict someone on Instagram when you are continuously cyberbullied with harsh and negative comments and messages and if you don’t want them to know it. Here are the things that happen when you restrict someone on Instagram,
When you Restricted the Person on comments
The comments won’t be visible to other users who follow you. You can see the restricted person’s comment and the others under your post with a message.
To view, the comment, tap ‘See Comment’ on the protected message. Then you can choose ‘Approve’ or ‘Delete’ them. And you will not receive notifications when the restricted person comments on your post.
If you approve them, the comment will be visible to every user following you. The restricted user won’t be notified of your action. If you delete them, both you and the restricted person won’t be able to see them.
However, if they check your post, he/she won’t find his comment. If you don’t choose any options, the comment will be visible only to you and the other party.
When you Restricted the Person on Direct Message
When you restrict someone on Instagram, their Direct messages will be moved to a separate section called ‘Message Requests’. Thus the sender (restricted person) won’t see whether you have read it. And you won’t be notified of the messages.
The restricted person will also be unable to view your active status, i.e., whether you’re online or offline or last seen. You can read their messages in the Message Request, and they won’t be notified.
You can tab the free option at the bottom of the chat to message back to the restricted person. Or you can use the ‘Delete’ option to delete the message request. And this also won’t be notified to the restricted person.
Now you have learned what happens when you restrict someone on Instagram, let’s see the difference between restrict and block options on Instagram.
Restrict vs Block on Instagram
It is one of the most asked questions What is the difference between restrict vs block on Instagram? So let me give you a short explanation about it.
Both of them helps you to avoid peoples. However, if you block someone, neither you nor the other party cannot message each other and see the profiles, posts, and stories. All the engagements between you will be cancelled.
Though the party will not be notified when you block them, they can find it by checking your profile or commenting or messaging you. They cannot mention or tag you in the future. In simple words, it is an end to your engagement.
When you restrict someone the other party can message, you view your profile, posts, and stories. But you or your followers will not be notified or disturbed by their actions. They can still tag or mention you, and it will be notified to you.
It is a tone-downed version of blocking, where everything seems normal to the other party, but you won’t be disturbed by them. The restricted person will get into a view-only mode. Thus his actions won’t affect you. And he won’t be able to find that you have restricted him.
Restrict vs Block on Instagram Which one to use
The answer is based on your needs and preference. Block can be a better choice if you don’t want the person to view your profile or interact with you and don’t care whether they find your blocking.
But if you will meet the person daily and don’t want them to find your actions, then you can use restriction, which gives you cyber protection without the other party knowing it.
Restrict is not effective as the block option or invisible. The other party can find that you have restricted them through a third-party account, but still can solve major of your stress and pressure when dealing with cyberbullies.
I hope this article has helped you learn what restriction means on Instagram and When to restrict someone on Instagram. Please share your question and thoughts on the article in the comment section below.
Was this Article Helpful?
Did I just helped you solve one of your problem? Support me by buying me a coffee. Thanks for your support