Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story

Instagram, since its inception, has made an everlasting mark on the new generation due to the various features of the app. With Instagram, making promotional videos and connecting with a humongous community has become all the more simpler,

Stories especially are most often sought out on Instagram, some people even go as far as to screenshot an image. But there is one question, does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story? 

Most are curious about this, will others be notified when you screenshot their story? Keep reading below to know more!

Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story? No, Instagram currently doesn’t notify others when you screenshot a story. While the notification feature for story screenshots was present which notified users of you taking a screenshot of their story for a short period of time during 2018, it has been since been removed.

So you can rest assured about taking a screenshot of either Reel, a story or an Instagram post. However, if you take a screenshot of a Instagram DM (Direct Message) while you are in vanish mode (you can access it by swiping up from the bottom of the screen while in DM), you will get a notification that you have taken a screenshot of the DM along with sending the same notification to the other user who you are having a DM with.

This is why it is important to know when you take a screenshot and where exactly on Instagram, otherwise you could be in a potentially embarrassing situation.

Why Take a Screenshot of Story

There can be many reasons for knowing whether does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story, you may perhaps be impressed by an Instagram Story and would want to keep a memoir of such a story has enamored you beyond a shadow of a doubt.

You may also perhaps be making a personal collection of story screenshots for perhaps an assignment or an essay project, there may be many reasons, but most of them rely on the fact that you are impressed by the story and therefore want to know if Instagram notify when you screen a story for other users.

Now that you know that Instagram doesn’t notify others of you taking a screenshot of their story nor notify you, you can safely take a screenshot of a story on Instagram.

What is Vanish Mode on Instagram

Vanish mode essentially allows one to have a chat with the other while making sure that the records and such of the chat are not kept. Therefore once you quit the chat, everything will vanish, this is often useful when you are intending to have a private conversation with a friend of yours or a family member.

In simple terms, Vanish mode acts like the Incognito mode of Google Chrome, which does not keep any records of your browsing history or search history. For more information check this article on What is Vanish Mode on Instagram.

Was this Article Helpful?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: